Other People’s Kids

If you judge this post by the title, you might think I’m going to start complaining about how other people raise their kids.  Really, I don’t care about that at all.  This is about posting pictures of other people’s kids on social media.

We’ve all seen “friends” on facebook that are posting pictures of their nieces or nephews or those posting pics of their friend’s children.  I’m here to tell you, this drives me up the wall.  I cringe when I see people posting daily pictures of their week old nephew, most likely without asking the parent’s permission.

Here’s why it annoys me: Nobody should publicly post a child’s picture for literally the whole world to see without asking for the parent’s permission, if ever at all.  In my opinion, a parent is the only person who can protect their child’s “internet identity,” and the more random people posting pictures of your child, the harder this will be.

I understand we live in a very strange world, where we feel like we must share every moment with every person we know.  So seeing your best friend’s baby is exciting, and you want everyone to know how lucky you are to know such an awesome tiny human.  We parents are so glad you feel this way about our baby, but at the same time, our children deserve to build their own online identity when they are old enough.  It shouldn’t be done for them when they can’t even lift their heads yet.

I do post a picture of Hazel once or twice per month on my facebook page, to share with family and the small amount of friends I have on there.  I also have an instagram in which I post a picture or two per week, but you have to request to see them, or have the link to this blog to view them on here.  And, of course, I share them on here from time to time because WordPress doesn’t own my pictures like facebook does when I post them.  I am in charge of what pictures are posted, and I wouldn’t appreciate someone posting her pictures without my expressed permission.

So before you post a picture of someone else’s children on your facebook, think twice.  Ask them for permission, or send them the photo to decide if they’d like to post it themselves.  And thank you to everyone who does ask first.  It’s greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

