Thanksgiving

Rather than put some lame status on facebook about what I’m thankful for, I thought I’d take the time to write it out here.

First of all, I’m so thankful that I get to live in a place (south Texas) where it’s 70 degrees in the last few days of November.  Today was beautiful and we enjoyed having our feast with the windows open and the sun shining in.

I’m thankful for my family.  I have this pretty cool husband who would do anything for us, and I love him so much.  I feel so lucky to say I’ve been married to him for over five years, and luckier to say that I think we will have quite a few more ahead of us.  I also have the good fortune of being a mother to the sweetest baby girl I’ve ever met.  She is bright and happy and loving, and so much fun to spend every day with.  We laugh a lot and she lets me give her probably a thousand kisses every day and even gives kisses back sometimes, though they’re quite a lot more slobbery than the ones I give her.

I’m thankful for my sister, whom I can complain to about anything that is annoying and rejoice with when everything is going right.  I never knew how strong she is until this march when our babies were born under completely opposite circumstances, and it makes me love her even more.  I can’t even explain how thankful I am that her baby is here today to celebrate the holidays, and I love him so much even though I’ve only met him once.  He is perfect and healthy.  He has such strength for being such a little guy.

I’m thankful for my best friends.  I love our group texts everyday and I miss you so much.  I look forward to the next time we’ll be together again.

I’m thankful that we have food to eat everyday and a place to live and that we have stability in our lives.  A lot of people don’t have what I have, and I’m grateful for all of this every day.  I am thankful for my dog, Alex, who makes me feel less alone while being a stay at home mom.  He also keeps all my secret musings to himself.

There are a lot of things I’m thankful for this year, and every year, and I am most thankful for good health because this gives me time to enjoy the ride that is life.  I am so thankful I can look forward to the future and take comfort in time itself.

Leave a Reply

