On Motherhood and Losing Myself

Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish between the “mother” me and the “wife” me and the actual me and who I was before. Five months into this SAHM thing and it’s really been on my mind lately! She says it perfectly, as usual.

The Belle Jar

I remember the first time it happened – it was shortly after Theo’s birth and I was still in the hospital. My mother and husband were in the room with me when the nurse came in to do something – maybe weigh him or help bathe him or check his vital signs. After she finished, she said, “all right, now I’ll give him back to mom,” and I was momentarily confused. Why was she handing my son off to my mother? Shouldn’t she give him to me or my husband?

And then I realized that she had, in fact, meant to give Theo back to me. Mom meant me. I was mom. My mother, meanwhile, had graduated to “Grandma.” The nurse left before I had the chance to tell her that my name was Anne, although if she’d really wanted to know that she could have just looked at my chart.

I got used to…

View original post 1,033 more words

Leave a Reply

