How About Haze?

We are well into solids!  So far she’s tried sweet potatoes, peas, carrots, apples, mangoes, cauliflower, and banana.  She wasn’t too fond of cauliflower or mango, but it’s possible the flavor was too strong.  She loves rice cereal over oatmeal.  The most fun part of starting solids – and I’m being sarcastic here – is the poop surprise!  You never know what you’re going to get.  The carrot poo stained her skin orange and left carrot flakes on the changing table.  Lovely, I tell you, just lovely.  Also, smelly.  Babies are great, y’all!  

But really, other than her stinky stanky poo, she’s been an angel.  She has started yelling and experimenting with sounds, which is usually when I call someone.  She is so into the world now, it’s funny how one morning they just wake up with a switch flipped and want to grab and see and touch everything.  Especially the things you don’t want them to grab and stick in their mouths, such as TV remotes or cell phones.

She is starting to show affection, too.  She’ll hug you close, and last night while she was sitting in my lap, I gave her a kiss and she put her face in my chest and put her arms around me.  She cuddled in for a minute and then pulled herself back up.  She also gave me a “kiss” on my mouth yesterday when I asked for one.  Granted, I had to ask like five times, but still.  She gave her Grandma Karen a kiss during Facetime when I asked her to, which meant making out with my phone screen.  No germs there, I’m sure.  You can see the joy on her face when you lie down next to her with your face really close, and she turns into you and will giggle.  She is becoming very sweet and even more lovable if that’s possible.

She’s stopped taking an evening nap, so we are down to just two naps per day.  More time to practice crawling and sitting up.  I ordered some new toys for her THANK YOU PRIME and those get here tomorrow.  I’m really excited to see how she plays with them.  

SO in my life, I ruined my iPhone 5.  I spilled water on it from my Gallo Dance Studio water bottle which leaks apparently?  Sad faces all around.  It works, the screen is just weird colors.  Thankfully my contract is up October 22nd, so I can get a new one then.  

I’ve walked with Alex in the morning the last two days.  Today we went at 6:30 before the sun was up at all.  I got a slightly murder-y vibe from the woods, but Alex was on high alert.  He heard every sound and was very ready to rip throats out with his dingo jaws if necessary.  Thankfully, it wasn’t.  He calmed considerably when we could see.  We passed another dog, and it wasn’t bad.  He kind of got in the dogs face though which was kind of rude on his part, but the other dog was really well behaved and I corrected his behavior and we kept on walkin’.  

P&G will be arriving tomorrow at noon, so I probably won’t write until they leave.  I know David is really excited, he likes to show off his super cool/cute/amazing baby.  I’m sure he also wants to show off his app he’s making with Elliott.  He can only show me so many times.  

I’ll leave you with a few pictures.

Pouting and drooling in her sleep.

Pouting and drooling in her sleep.

Chubby baby hand complete with knuckle dimples.

Chubby baby hand complete with knuckle dimples.

She loved carrots.

She loved carrots.

Play time.

Play time.

 

© Carli Garrison and cllgarrison, 2014

One thought on “How About Haze?

Leave a Reply

